terça-feira, 3 de setembro de 2013

New Brown Leather Gel Seats

I decided to change the seat for one smaller and more confortable (my wife got used to the confort of KTM 950 Adventure Gel Seat and the WP shocks).

I found a great seat maker in São Paulo, Brazil (http://www.pedrinhobancos.com.br/).

They built a new structure from fiber glass and start from scratch, sculpting the foam for my taste.

I bought gel pads to be inserted on the final format that was covered by leather I choose from another store.

Gel Pads :
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Large-Motorcycle-seat-Gel-Pad-Installation-KIT-/380297175996?pt=Motorcycles_Parts_Accessories&hash=item588b7a63bc&vxp=mtr

The final job was great, improved the look and it was very confortable.

Check out the results:












segunda-feira, 2 de setembro de 2013

Ok, the transformation is almost there...let's share it !

It's September and I invested sometime (actually had a lot of fun) to transform a nice bike into something mine.  My style.  Based upon what I saw but so far with some additions.

Very soon I will post how I did each part, where I bought it and so forth, once the most time consuming  task was the internet research to find parts and mainly what works and what didin't work.

The 2013 Bonneville EFI use a CAN BUS, a kind of data connection among electronic parts so that simple things as changing a turning light to a micro led turning light just don't work.  The "computer" don't recognize it (it's not just wires anymore...).  I will post the How to build your own Cafe Racer Bike in the next blog. (DOs and mainly DON'Ts).

Well, just check the before and after of the Bonnie transformation.

Next post I will have all the reference sites I used.

Enjoy !












sábado, 24 de agosto de 2013

In search for a base for my Café Racer :-)

In mid 2012 I contacted Triumph in UK, that left distribution in Brazil years ago, and they said they were going to distribute it in the late '12
While waiting I dig into Cafe Racer bikes at internet and felt in love with the trend, style, thoughts.

Once I was a off roader I was more toward a scrambler style (below, the model I still think as the most beautiful scrambler in the internet).



That's it !  I was going to build it but based upon which bike ?  A brand new Bonnie ?  No...

There weren't many old Bonnies around here, neither Ducatis nor the beautiful old BMW R75 or R100, all general base for Cafe Racers.
But there were many Hondas CB 550 and CB 750 Four '73 on.

Actually, I've learned that this model (Honda CB 750) was responsible for the declined of European bikes and the rise of the Japanese ones.

So I read a lot, many blogs, many discussion at TriumphRat and despite all recommendations I bought a CB 750 '74 that "needed some fix".

Boy... don't do it !

If you want to built a Cafe Racer, buy a motorcycle in good shape, at least the motor.

Ok, you may say (as I did) "I am smarter, I can buy a cheaper one and fix at a very good cost".

Actually there was another concern.  My heart  hurt just to think I would take a classic Honda 750 Four, in fantastic state of conservation and dismount it away from the originality just to make my desire to have a different bike.
It was like killing one of the last animals of it species, like accelerating extinction.
But... if I took and bike in bad shape, no problem.

DON'T DO IT, TRUST ME.

You should buy one with a great motor, because you'll find, as I did, that some aspects get beyond you and you riding the bike:
1.  The parts are expensive (when you put all together).
2. It very hard to find a good mechanic that deal well with old machines (and want to)
3. They are expensive
4. They are few
5. They are full of work and will handle your bike for months.

So here is the bike I bought.  Beautiful !
Next the oil it leaks (half liter every 20 kilometer).
Then I realize the forks was leaking too, letting the bike with no suspensions.

I thought in taking this one:


And transform into this one (a beautiful CRD Café Racer - http://www.crdmotorcycles.com):




I drove 700 km to pick the Honda CB 750 Four '74, three states away, and decided to return it to the seller two weeks later, after visiting many mechanics.
Once the seller didn't want it back, I lost a good amount of money to happily get rid of the bike.

I found a fantastic new bike, not as classic as the '74, not near as beautiful...  but brand new.
An impeccable Honda CB 750 '81 ...green, well but it was better then when it left the dealer more than twenty years ago.  The owner restore it fantastically, and it was sad to know I was going to remove the originality.

At the day I was going to buy it, a very close friend of mine, Kiko, who travelled with me many trips across south america, said he was selling his brand new, one month old 2013 Bonneville.
As a good friend and generous, he offered me a price I couldn't refuse, and he made me back to the original plan.

I end up back to the "original" Triumph Bonneville that started all.

So beautiful, so new that no one thought I would disassemble it entirely to build my version of a Café Racer/Mod motorcycle.

And so I did it :-)








terça-feira, 18 de junho de 2013

Back to roots: Classic bikes and Triumph

Back in July '12, we had a meeting with Dr. Rapaille at his nice house in Tuxedo, NY. (http://www.archetypediscoveriesworldwide.com)

As expected I was going to rent a car to drive 40 miles from Central Park, Manhattan.
Instead, I tought I could rent a Ducati HiperMotard and went to Jupiter Bike Rental (http://jupitersmc.com, rent with them. Great guys).
I saw a Triumph Bonneville and tought that I'd never drove such type of motorcycle.

I love off road bikes and used to race Rallies and had many bikes, but never "traditionals" (well I had an Yamaha RD200 when 16' does it counts ?).

So I decided to try.

WOW !!!!   What a ride !  Back to roots !

Totally different from my KTM Adventure 950 or any previous bike.

Honestly, I had never experienced such an inprint, it drove me back when I was Eighteen at Rio de Janeiro forest roads.  Made my heart beat strong.



I decided to buy one, but Triumph distribution in Brazil was discontinued... so I decided to import it (trouble !).

At Google I found a new category of bikes: Café Racer and the first one that touched me was Paris by Night:




Beatiful machine, talks to the heart !

Ok, that's it !  I'll build my own Café Racer !

Easier said than done...